Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Colorado Window Tint Laws (CO)

Car window tinting laws in Colorado were first put into place in 1995.

Colorado was the 26th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Colorado. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Colorado that we have made available.

Colorado Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Colorado

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Colorado is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Colorado:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 27% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 27% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 27% tint darkness allowed

colorado-window-tint-laws-explained

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Colorado:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective 70% VLT tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 27% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 27% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 27% tint darkness allowed

colorado-mpv-window-tint-laws-diagram

Other Colorado Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Colorado has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red and Amber are allowed in Colorado
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in Colorado.
  • Stickers: State law recommends but does not require stickers to identify legal tinting.
  • Medical Exceptions: Colorado law does NOT allow medical exemptions that would allow you use special tint.
  • Penalties: Class B traffic infraction, or misdemeanor with $500-$5000 fine.

This information relating to window tint laws in Colorado was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Colorado were enacted in 1995. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Colorado Info

Colorado is a U.S. state encompassing most of the Southern Rocky Mountains as well as the northeastern portion of the Colorado Plateau and the western edge of the Great Plains. Colorado is part of the Western United States, the Southwestern United States, and the Mountain States. Colorado is the 8th most extensive and the 22nd most populous of the 50 United States. The United States Census Bureau estimates that the population of Colorado was 5,187,582 on July 1, 2012, an increase of +3.15% since the 2010 United States Census. The state was named for the Colorado River, which early Spanish explorers named the Río Colorado for the red colored (Spanish: colorado) silt the river carried from the mountains.

 

Capital: Denver

Population: 5,187,582

Area: 104,094 sq mi (269,837 km2)

Cities  Denver, Colorado Springs, Boulder, Fort Collins, Aspen, Vail, Longmont, Breckenridge, Pueblo, Aurora, Grand Junction, Estes Park, Durango, Loveland, Steamboat Springs, Littleton, Greeley, Golden, Telluride, Arvada, Centennial, Broomfield, Castle Rock, Glenwood Springs, Lakewood, Englewood, Westminster, Crested Butte, Thornton, Winter Park, Louisville, Pagosa Springs, Ouray, Parker, Manitou Springs, Salida, Leadville, Nederland, Montrose, Gunnison, Lyons, Lafayette, Alamosa, Cañon City, Buena Vista, Silverton, Frisco, Trinidad, Erie, Fairplay

Counties  El Paso, Denver, Arapahoe, Jefferson, Adams, Larimer, Boulder, Douglas, Weld, Pueblo, Mesa, Broomfield, Garfield, La Plata, Eagle, Fremont, Montrose, Delta, Morgan, Summit, Montezuma, Routt, Teller, Elbert, Logan, Otero, Chaffee, Pitkin, Park, Las Animas, Alamosa, Gunnison, Grand, Moffat, Prowers, Archuleta, Rio Grande, Yuma, Clear Creek, Kit Carson, Conejos, San Miguel, Lake, Huerfano, Rio Blanco, Bent, Saguache, Crowled, Lincoln, Gilpin, Washington, Phillips, Ouray, Custer, Baca, Costilla, Sedgwick, Dolores, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Jackson, Hinsdale, Mineral, San Juan

Wikipedia

State Website

 

Tint law references

advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c3d8a725-b0b7-4133-b4b1-482809d9dca2&nodeid=ABRAAEAABAACABC&nodepath=%2fROOT%2fABR%2fABRAAE%2fABRAAEAAB%2fABRAAEAABAAC%2fABRAAEAABAACABC&level=5&haschildren=&populated=false&title=42-4-227.+Windows+unobstructed+-+certain+materials+prohibited+-+windshield+wiper+requirements&config=014FJAAyNGJkY2Y4Zi1mNjgyLTRkN2YtYmE4OS03NTYzNzYzOTg0OGEKAFBvZENhdGFsb2d592qv2Kywlf8caKqYROP5&pddocfullpath=%2fshared%2fdocument%2fstatutes-legislation%2furn%3acontentItem%3a5T3S-CKN0-004D-11YK-00008-00&ecomp=-_579kk&prid=80eb4e2a-4aa5-45d3-9e81-5b0f7cefbe21

 

Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.