Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Montana Window Tint Laws (MT)

Car window tinting laws in Montana were first put into place in 1991.

Montana was the 13th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Montana. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Montana that we have made available.

Montana Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Montana

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Montana is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Montana:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 24% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 14% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 14% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Montana:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 24% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other Montana Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Montana has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions on side mirrors in Montana.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red, Amber and Yellow are allowed in Montana
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.
  • Stickers: State law recommends but does not require stickers to identify legal tinting.
  • Medical Exceptions: Montana allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult your state law.
  • Penalties: Misdemeanor with up to $500 fine and/or up to 6 months in county jail (Montana law 46-18-212).

This information relating to window tint laws in Montana was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Montana were enacted in 1991. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Montana Info

Montana is a state in the Western United States. Montana is ranked 4th in size, but 44th in population and the 48th in population density of the 50 United States. The economy is primarily based on agriculture, including ranching and cereal grain farming. Other significant economic activities include oil, gas, coal and hard rock mining, lumber, and the fastest-growing sector, tourism. The health care, service and government sectors also are significant to the state's economy. Millions of tourists annually visit Glacier National Park, the Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument, and Yellowstone National Park.


Capital: Helena

Population: 1,005,141

Area: 147,042 sq mi (381,154 km2)

Cities  Missoula, Bozeman, Billings, Helena, Great Falls, Kalispell, Butte, Whitefish, Outlook, Anaconda, Red Lodge, West Yellowstone, Livingston, Miles City, Libby, Hamilton, Sidney, Roundup, Polson, Dillon, Lewistown, Glendive, Hot Springs, Columbia Falls, Belgrade, Three Forks, Froid, Havre, Virginia City, Deer Lodge, Cut Bank, Ennis, Philipsburg, Stevensville, Choteau, Glasgow, Big Timber, Shelby, Wolf Point, Eureka, Fort Benton, Browning, Plentywood, Lolo Hot Springs, Thompson Falls, White Sulphur Springs, Sweetgrass, West Glacier, Laurel, Hardin

Counties  Beaverhead, Big Horn, Blaine, Broadwater, Carbon, Carter, Cascade, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Deer Lodge, Fallon, Fergus, Flathead, Gallatin, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Granite, Hill, Jefferson, Judith Basin, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Liberty, Lincoln, McCone, Madison, Meagher, Mineral, Missoula, Musselshell, Park, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Powder River, Powell, Prairie, Ravalli, Richland, Roosevelt, Rosebud, Sanders, Sheridan, Silver Bow, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Treasure, Valley, Wheatland, Wibaux, Yellowstone


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.