Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

North Dakota Window Tint Laws (ND)

Car window tinting laws in North Dakota were first put into place in 2003.

North Dakota was the 41st of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in North Dakota. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in North Dakota that we have made available.

North Dakota Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In North Dakota

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in North Dakota is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In North Dakota:

  • Front Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 50% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In North Dakota:

  • Front Windshield: Must allow more than 70% of light in.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 50% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other North Dakota Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

North Dakota has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in North Dakota if any window behind driver is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in North Dakota
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: Sticker to identify legal tinting is not required.
  • Medical Exceptions: North Dakota no longer allows medical exemptions for window tint.
  • Penalties: 

This information relating to window tint laws in North Dakota was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in North Dakota were enacted in 2003. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of North Dakota Info

North Dakota is the 39th state of the United States. It is located in the Upper Midwestern region of the United States, with its northern border running along the borders with the provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba and with the states of Minnesota to the east, South Dakota to the south and Montana to the west. The state capitol is located in Bismarck and the largest city is Fargo. Currently, North Dakota is the 19th most extensive but the 3rd least populous and the 4th least densely populated of the 50 United States.


Capital: Bismarck

Population: 699,628

Area: 70,700 sq mi (183,272 km2)

Cities  Fargo, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Minot, Williston, Dickinson, West Fargo, Mandan, Abercrombie, Devils Lake, Jamestown, Watford City, Medora, Wahpeton, Cando, Aneta, Valley City, Oriska, Tioga, LaMoure, Zap, New Town, Gardena, Stanley, Pembina, Bottineau, Cavalier, Rugby, Alamo, Beulah, Mylo, Flasher, Killdeer, Wolford, Kenmare, Mountain, Amenia, Grafton, Parshall, Reeder, Washburn, Bowman, Towner, Frontier, Trenton, Minto, Mayville, Oxbow, Tower City, Munich

Counties  Adams, Barnes, Benson, Billings, Bottineau, Bowman, Burke, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Divide, Dunn, Eddy, Emmons, Foster, Golden Valley, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Random, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells, Williams


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.