Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Washington Window Tint Laws (WA)

Car window tinting laws in Washington were first put into place in 2011.

Washington was the 50th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Washington. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Washington that we have made available.

Washington Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Washington

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Washington is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Washington:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 24% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 24% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 24% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Washington:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 24% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other Washington Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Washington has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if back window is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red, Amber and Yellow are allowed in Washington
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in the state of Washington. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Washington allows medical exemptions for special tint.
  • Penalties: 

This information relating to window tint laws in Washington was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Washington were enacted in 2011. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Washington Info

Washington is a state in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States located north of Oregon, west of Idaho, and south of the Canadian province of British Columbia on the coast of the Pacific Ocean. Named after George Washington, the first President of the United States, the state was carved out of the western part of the Washington Territory which had been ceded by Britain in 1846 by the Oregon Treaty as a settlement of the Oregon Boundary Dispute. It was admitted to the Union as the 42nd state in 1889. Washington is the 18th most extensive and the 13th most populous of the 50 United States.


Capital: Olympia

Population: 6,897,012

Area: 71,300 sq mi (184,827 km2)

Cities  Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane, Bellevue, Olympia, Redmond, Everett, Bellingham, Renton, Yakima, Kirkland, Vancouver, Puyallup, Issaquah, Federal Way, Bothell, Lynnwood, Bremerton, Kennewick, Kent, Auburn, Tri-Cities, Forks, Wenatchee, Port Angeles, Richland, Gig Harbor, Walla Walla, Pasco, Pullman, Port Townsend, Woodinville, Edmonds, Marysville, Anacortes, Sequim, Mercer Island, Mount Vernon, Lakewood, Ellensburg, Bainbridge Island, Leavenworth, Poulsbo, Lacey, Tukwila, SeaTac, Shoreline, Fort Lewis, Sammamish, Port Orchard

Counties  Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Clallam, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferso, King, Kitsap, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Spokane, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Whitman, Yakima


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.