Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Michigan Window Tint Laws (MI)

Car window tinting laws in Michigan were first put into place in 2000.

Michigan was the 35th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Michigan. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Michigan that we have made available.

Michigan Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Michigan

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Michigan is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Michigan:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used 4" inches from the top of the window
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Michigan:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 4 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: Any darkness can be applied 4 inches from the top of the window.
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other Michigan Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Michigan has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Vehicle must have side mirrors if rear windshield is obstructed.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Silver and Gold are allowed in Michigan
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film do NOT need to certify the film they sell in the state.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Michigan allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult Michigan state law.
  • Penalties: 

This information relating to window tint laws in Michigan was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Michigan were enacted in 2000. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Michigan Info

Michigan is a state in the Great Lakes region of the Midwestern United States. It's the 9th most populous of the 50 United States, with the 11th most extensive total area. Its capital is Lansing, and the largest city is Detroit. Michigan is the only state to consist of two peninsulas, connected by the Mackinac Bridge. While sparsely populated, the Upper Peninsula is economically important due to its status as a tourist destination as well as its abundance of natural resources.


Capital: Lansing

Population: 9,883,360

Area: 96,716 sq mi (250,493 km2)

Cities  Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, Ann Arbor, Kalamazoo, Flint, Dearborn, Troy, Muskegon, Holland, Bay City, Novi, Livonia, Royal Oak, Sterling Heights, Farmington Hills, Traverse City, Southfield, Battle Creek, Saginaw, Warren, Pontiac, Auburn Hills, Ypsilanti, Frankenmuth, East Lansing, Midland, Rochester Hills, Marquette, Petoskey, Westland, Bloomfield Hills, Grand Haven, Port Huron, Benton Harbor, Jackson, Birmingham, Saugatuck, New Era, Plymouth, South Haven, Ferndale, Northville, Madison Heights, Wyoming, Rochester, Iron Mountain, Hell, Roseville, Taylor

Counties  Alcona, Alger, Allegan, Alpena, Antrim, Arenac, Baraga, Barry, Bay, Benzie, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Clare, Clinton, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Eaton, Emmet, Genesee, Gladwin, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Gratiot, Hillsdale, Houghton, Huron, Ingham, Ionia, Iosco, Iron, Isabella, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Keweenaw, Lake, Lapeer, Leelanau, Lenawee, Livingston, Luce, Mackinac, Macomb, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Mecosta, Menominee, Midland, Missaukee, Monroe, Montcalm, Montmorency, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oakland, Oceana, Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Osceola, Oscoda, Otsego, Ottawa, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Saginaw, St. Clair, St. Joseph, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, Shiawassee, Tuscola, Van Buren, Washentaw, Wayne County, Wexford County


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info,4643,7-123-1586_27094-73839--,00.html#tinted

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.