louisiana-Tinting-Laws-YT-Thumbnail

Louisiana window tint law 2020 (LA)

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Louisiana. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Louisiana that we have made available.

Car window tinting laws in Louisiana were first put into place in 1993 with Louisiana being the 20th of the 50 states to enact these tinting laws.

Table of Contents

Louisiana Tint Laws - What does VLT Mean according to Louisiana State Law

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Louisiana is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

A HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

What is the Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Louisiana:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 40% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 12% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 12% tint darkness allowed
louisiana-window-tint-laws-explained

What is the Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Louisiana:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line or top 5 inches.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 40% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used
louisiana-mpv-window-tint-laws-diagram

Other Louisiana Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Louisiana has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red and Amber are allowed in Louisiana
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film must certify the film they sell in the state. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film and glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Louisiana law does allow medical exemptions for tinted windows. Office of the State Police may grant a certificate of exemption in case of certain medical conditions.
  • Penalties: $150 for first offense, $250 for second offense, $350 for subsequent offenses.

Always remember that the laws can change on a daily basis and these rules and regulations may be interpreted differently on a city to city or county to county basis. We recommend double-checking the information contained on this website with your local DMV or local law enforcement agencies for accuracy. This information relating to window tint laws in Louisiana was last updated on January 27th, 2020. Tinting laws in Louisiana were enacted in 1993. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

Louisiana Automotive Window Tint Law References

Louisiana Window tint Medical Exemption References

A.(1)  The provisions of R.S. 32:361.1 do not apply to a motor vehicle registered in this state where the registered owner, spouse or family member operating or authorized to operate the motor vehicle has an affidavit signed by an optometrist or physician, including but not limited to an ophthalmologist or dermatologist licensed to practice in this state stating that such person has a physical or medical condition involving the effects of the sun that makes it necessary to equip the motor vehicle with sun screening material which would be of a light transmission or luminous reflectance in violation of R.S. 32:361.1.  A copy of the affidavit shall be kept in the motor vehicle at all times.

(2)  The affidavit, prepared by the office of state police, shall list the World Health Organization International Classification of Disease ICD-9-CM recognized conditions that would qualify an individual for a medical exemption under this Section.  Included on the affidavit shall be a section for the optometrist or physician, including but not limited to an ophthalmologist or dermatologist licensed to practice in this state, to describe a medical condition that is not listed on the affidavit as a condition requiring a medical exemption under this Section.  The office of state police may seek the opinion of the Louisiana Medical Advisory Board on whether to grant a medical exemption.  A copy of this affidavit shall be kept in the vehicle at all times.

(a)  If the optometrist or physician, including but not limited to an ophthalmologist or dermatologist licensed to practice in this state, finds photophobia as the medical condition requiring the medical exemption provided for in this Section, the optometrist or physician shall write in the appropriate section why a correct pair of sunglasses will not provide the necessary protection, and why the window tint will not affect the person’s ability to drive at night.

(b)  An individual seeking the medical exemption shall sign a notarized release authorizing the release to the department of all medical records dealing with the exemption.

(3)(a)  Any medical exemption granted shall be due to a diagnosed condition made only by an optometrist or physician, including but not limited to an ophthalmologist or dermatologist licensed to practice in this state, and such condition shall be verifiable in the World Health Organization International Classification of Disease ICD-9-CM as a recognized condition that would warrant an exemption pursuant to this Section.

(b)  The secretary or his designated representative shall conduct a case-by-case review of grants and denials and shall make such changes as he deems necessary based on evidence presented to him by a person seeking an exemption.

(c)  Any exemption granted under the provisions of this Section shall be subject to review every three years unless deemed otherwise by the department.

(d)(i)  Persons convicted of violent crimes or drug offenses shall not be eligible for a medical exemption.  Therefore, at the time of applying for the exemption, the applicant shall provide written consent on a form approved by the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information authorizing the bureau to release any information contained in the applicant’s criminal history record and identification files to the office of state police for verification that the applicant has not been convicted of a violent crime or drug offense.

(ii)  Applicants shall submit a full set of fingerprints and the department shall authorize the bureau to conduct a state and federal criminal history record check, which shall include a check of National Criminal History Records from the Federal Bureau of Investigations Criminal Justice Information Services Division.

(e)  Any exemption issued shall be subject to administrative review and possible cancellation as a result of a documented event involving a threat to police officer safety.

B.(1)  The affidavit shall include a description of the vehicle and shall be in the possession of the person so afflicted, or the person’s legal representative, at all times while being transported in the motor vehicle or be kept within the described vehicle.

(2)  If a vehicle is traded or sold that is covered by an exemption, then the person accepting the vehicle to be transferred shall be responsible for removing the tint, unless the new owner has applied for and received an exemption.

C.  Any medical exemption issued prior to January 1, 2005 shall expire one year from the date of issuance.

D.  Any exemption granted pursuant to this Section shall not apply to the area below the top six inches of a motor vehicle windshield unless specifically authorized by the optometrist or physician granting or requesting the medical exemption provided for in this Section for a patient who is diagnosed with a light-sensitive porphyria.

E.  The Department of Public Safety and Corrections shall issue a decal for each vehicle covered by an exemption issued pursuant to this Section.  The decal shall be prominently displayed on the vehicle at all times and shall indicate that the vehicle has tinted windows because an occupant has a medical issue warranting an exemption under this Section.

Acts 1983, No. 158, §1; Acts 1993, No. 519, §1; Acts 2004, No. 463, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 2005; Acts 2005, No. 238, §2; Acts 2008, No. 91, §1; Acts 2009, No. 175, §1; Acts 2009, No. 371, §1; Acts 2014, No. 433, §1.

Want a complete guide for all 50 states?

Click this button to be taken to a PDF file that will help you to understand the medical exemptions in all 50 states

State of Louisiana Information

Louisiana is a state located in the southern region of the United States of America. Louisiana is the 31st most extensive and the 25th most populous of the 50 United States. Its capital is Baton Rouge and largest city is New Orleans. Louisiana is the only state in the U.S. with political subdivisions termed parishes, which are local governments equivalent to counties. The largest parish by population is East Baton Rouge Parish, and the largest by land area is Cameron Parish.

louisiana-state-map

What is the Capital of Louisiana

The capital of Louisiana is Baton Rouge

What is the population of Louisiana

The population of Louisiana is 4,659,978 according to Wikipedia as of 2018.

What is the area of Louisiana

The area of Louisiana is 52,069 square miles and ranks as the 31st largest state in the United States!

Louisiana Wikipedia Page

Checkout Louisiana's Wikipedia page to learn all kinds of cool facts about the state!

Official Louisiana state Website

If you want to learn more about the laws in Louisiana checkout their official Website Here

New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Lake Charles, West Monroe, Monroe, Houma, Alexandria, Lafayette, Slidell, Bossier City, Natchitoches, Kenner, New Iberia, Covington, Thibodaux, Ruston, Mandeville, Coushatta, Breaux Bridge, Grand Isle, Opelousas, Clarks, Hammond, Sulphur, Morgan City, Gretna, Denham Springs, Eunice, St. Francisville, Bogalusa, Gonzales, Little Woods, Bayou Pigeon, Leesville, Kinder, Tallulah, St. Bernard Parish, Abbeville, Ikes, Pineville, Ponchatoula, Zachary, Minden, De Ridder, Venice, Holly Beach, Eros, Broussard, Abita Springs

(Parishes) Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lafourche, La Salle, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Quachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Saint Bernard, Saint Charles, Saint Helena, Saint James, Saint John the Baptist, Saint Landry, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Saint Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermillion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana, Winn

Window Tint Laws By State