Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

New Jersey Window Tint Laws (NJ)

Car window tinting laws in New Jersey were first put into place in 2003.

New Jersey was the 40th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in New Jersey. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in New Jersey that we have made available.

New Jersey Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In New Jersey

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in New Jersey is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In New Jersey:

  • Front Windshield: It is ILLEGAL to tint this window
  • Front seat side windows: It is ILLEGAL to tint this window
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In New Jersey:

  • Front Windshield: It is ILLEGAL to tint this window
  • Front seat side windows: It is ILLEGAL to tint this window
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other New Jersey Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

New Jersey has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in New Jersey
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
  • Medical Exceptions: New Jersey allows medical exemptions for special tint. For more details about the specific terms of the exemption, consult New Jersey law.
  • Penalties: Maximum $1,000 fine for first offense, and $5,000 for second or subsequent offenses (NJ Statutes 39:3-75.3)

This information relating to window tint laws in New Jersey was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in New Jersey were enacted in 2003. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of New Jersey Info

New Jersey is a state in the Northeastern and Middle Atlantic regions of the United States. It is bordered on the north and east by the U.S. state of New York, on the southeast and south by the Atlantic Ocean, on the west by Pennsylvania, and on the southwest by Delaware. New Jersey is the fourth-least extensive, but the 11th-most populous and the most densely populated of the 50 United States. New Jersey lies mostly within the sprawling metropolitan areas of New York City and Philadelphia. It is also the second-wealthiest U.S. state by 2011 median household income.


Capital: Trenton

Population: 8,864,590

Area: 8,721 sq mi (22,608 km2)

Cities  Jersey City, Atlantic City, Newark, Hoboken, Sandy Hook, Camden, Trenton, Toms River, Ocean City, Princeton, Cape May, Cherry Hill, Seaside Heights, Morristown, Montclair, Wildwood, New Brunswick, Elizabeth, Parsippany-Troy Hills, Paterson, Edison, Bayonne, Red Bank, Brick Township, Hackensack, Asbury Park, Union Township, Englishtown, Piscataway, West New York, Secaucus, Paramus, Ridgewood, Woodbridge, Hamilton Township, Fort Lee, Union City, Alpine, Teaneck, Clifton, Belmar, Wayne, North Bergen, Middletown, West Orange, Old Bridge, Vineland, Basking Ridge, Summit, East Brunswick Township

Counties  Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, Warren


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.