Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Oregon Window Tint Laws (OR)

Car window tinting laws in Oregon were first put into place in 2003.

Oregon was the 42nd of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Oregon. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Oregon that we have made available.

Oregon Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Oregon

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Oregon is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Oregon:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Oregon:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 6 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other Oregon Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Oregon has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: If any window behind driver is tinted dual side mirrors are required.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red, Amber, Gold, Yellow and Black are allowed in Oregon
  • Certifications: Tint installers must provide you with a certificate stating light transmittance and reflectance.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required by law.
  • Medical Exceptions: Oregon allows medical exemptions for darker tint.
  • Penalties: Class B traffic violation with $360 fine.

This information relating to window tint laws in Oregon was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Oregon were enacted in 2003. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Oregon Info

Oregon is a state in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States. It is located on the Pacific coast, with Washington to the north, California to the south, Nevada on the southeast and Idaho to the east. The Columbia and Snake rivers delineate much of Oregon's northern and eastern boundaries, respectively. Oregon is the 9th most expansive and the 27th most populous of the 50 United States. Salem is the state's capital and third-most-populous city; Portland is the most populous. Portland is the 29th-largest U.S. city, with a population of 603,106 (2012 estimate) and a metro population of 2,262,605 (2011 estimate), the 23rd-largest U.S. metro area.


Capital: Salem

Population: 3,899,353

Area: 98,381 sq mi (255,026 km2)

Cities  Portland, Bend, Eugene, Salem, Beaverton, Corvallis, Medford, Hillsboro, Ashland, Lake Oswego, Grants Pass, Coos Bay, Klamath Falls, Oregon City, Newport, Astoria, Seaside, Lincoln City, Cannon Beach, Gresham, Tigard, Roseburg, McMinnville, Fossil, Brookings, The Dalles, Hood River, Albany, Florence, Springfield, Redmond, Milwaukie, La Grande, Pendleton, Bandon, Newberg, Tualatin, Sherwood, Wilsonville, West Linn, Helix, Sisters, Boring, Baker City, Power City, Forest Grove, Tillamook, Prineville, Minam, Hermiston

Counties  Baker, Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Crook, Curry, Deschutes, Douglas, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Malheur, Marion, Morrow, Multnomah, Polk, Sherman, Tillamook, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, Washington, Wheeler, Yamhill


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.