Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

South Dakota Window Tint Laws (SD)

Car window tinting laws in South Dakota were first put into place in 1989.

South Dakota was the 9th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in South Dakota. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in South Dakota that we have made available.

South Dakota Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In South Dakota

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in South Dakota is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In South Dakota:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 20% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 20% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In South Dakota:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 20% of light in.
  • Rear window: up to 20% tint darkness allowed


Other South Dakota Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

South Dakota has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: There are no restrictions on side mirrors in South Dakota.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in South Dakota
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers need to certify the film they sell in South Dakota. Check with your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted window.
  • Medical Exceptions: South Dakota law does not allow any medical exemptions that would allow using special car window tint.
  • Penalties: Class 2 misdemeanor.

This information relating to window tint laws in South Dakota was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in South Dakota were enacted in 1989. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of South Dakota Info

South Dakota is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is named after the Lakota and Dakota Sioux American Indian tribes. South Dakota is the 17th most extensive, but the 5th least populous and the 5th least densely populated of the 50 United States. Once the southern portion of the Dakota Territory, South Dakota became a state on November 2, 1889 simultaneously with North Dakota. Pierre is the state capital and Sioux Falls, with a population of 159,000, is South Dakota's largest city.


Capital: Pierre

Population: 833,354

Area: 77,116 sq mi (199,905 km2)

Cities  Sioux Falls, Rapid City, Deadwood, Brookings, Sturgis, Pierre, Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, Spearfish, Yankton, Vermillion, Aberdeen, Watertown, Mitchell, Hot Springs, Rosebud Indian Reservation, Dupree, Keystone, Belle Fourche, Custer, Huron, Lead, Hill City, De Smet, Mobridge, Oral, Madison, Milbank, Winner, Brandon, Cheyenne River Indian Reservation, Onida, Dakota Dunes, Box Elder, Corsica, Chamberlain, Sisseton, Tea, Dell Rapids, Wall, Summerset, Canton, Faith, Holabird, Shindler, Interior, Eagle Butte, Flandreau, Murdo, Nemo, Harrisburg

Counties  Armstrong, Aurora, Beadle, Bennett, Bon Homme, Boreman, Brookings, Brown, Brule, Buffalo, Butte, Campbell, Charles Mix, Choteau, Clark, Clay, Codington, Corson, Custer, Davison, Day, Delano, Deuel, Dewey, Douglas, Edmunds, Ewing, Fall River, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Haakon, Hamlin, Hand, Hanson, Harding, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jackson, Jayne, Jerauld, Jones, Kingsbury, Lake, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lugenbeel, Lyman, Marshall, Martin, McCook, McPherson, Meade, Mellette, Meyer, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Nowlin, Pennington, Perkins, Potter, Pratt, Presho, Rinehart, Roberts, Rusk, Sanborn, Schnasse, Scobey, Shannon, Spink, Stanley, Sterling, Sully, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union, Wagner, Walworth, Washabaugh, Washington, Yankton, Ziebach


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.