Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Wisconsin Window Tint Laws (WI)

Car window tinting laws in Wisconsin were first put into place in 1996.

Wisconsin was the 29th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Wisconsin. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Wisconsin that we have made available.

Wisconsin Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Wisconsin

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Wisconsin is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Wisconsin:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 50% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Wisconsin:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 50% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Must allow more than 35% of light in.
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed


Other Wisconsin Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Wisconsin has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if the rear window is tinted below 60% VLT.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in Wisconsin
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers don't need to certify the film they sell in this state.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is not required.
  • Medical Exceptions: Wisconsin allows medical exemptions for darker tint.
  • Penalties: 

This information relating to window tint laws in Wisconsin was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Wisconsin were enacted in 1996. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Wisconsin Info

Wisconsin is a U.S. state located in the north-central United States, in the Midwest and Great Lakes regions. It is bordered by Minnesota to the west, Iowa to the southwest, Illinois to the south, Lake Michigan to the east, Michigan to the northeast, and Lake Superior to the north. Wisconsin is the 23rd state by total area and the 20th most populous. The state capital is Madison, and its largest city is Milwaukee, which is located on the western shore of Lake Michigan. The state comprises 72 counties.


Capital: Madison

Population: 5,726,398

Area: 65,497.82 sq mi (169,639 km2)

Cities  Milwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, Wisconsin Dells, Oshkosh, Appleton, Eau Claire, Kenosha, Waukesha, Wausau, La Crosse, Racine, Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Stevens Point, Fond du Lac, Lake Geneva, Wauwatosa, Janesville, Neenah, New Berlin, West Bend, Menomonee Falls, Beloit, Brookfield, New Glarus, Chippewa Falls, Sun Prairie, De Pere, Mequon, West Allis, Cedarburg, Marshfield, Menomonie, Pleasant Prairie, Port Washington, Oak Creek, Rhinelander, Bell Center, Baraboo, Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin Rapids, Hustler, Kaukauna, River Falls, Superior, Kohler, Bayfield, Fitchburg, Muskego

Counties  Adams, Ashland, Bad Ax, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Buffalo, Burnett, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dallas, Dane, Dodge, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Fond Du Lac, Forest, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Iron, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Kewaunee, La Crosse, La Pointe, Lafayette, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Marquette, Menominee, Milwaukee, Monroe, Oconto, Oneida, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Portage, Price, Racine, Richland, Rock, Rusk, Sauk, Sawyer, Shawano, Sheboygan, St. Croix, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Vilas, Walworth, Washburn, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, Wood


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.