Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Arkansas Window Tint Laws (AR)

Car window tinting laws in Arkansas were first put into place in 1993.

Arkansas was the 19th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Arkansas. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Arkansas that we have made available.

Arkansas Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Arkansas

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Arkansas is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Arkansas:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 25% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 10% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 10% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Arkansas:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 25% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 10% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 10% tint darkness allowed


Other Arkansas Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Arkansas has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in Arkansas
  • Certifications: Film manufacturers are not required to certify the film they sell in Arkansas.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on the driver’s side window.
  • Medical Exceptions: Arkansas allows medical exemptions for special tint.
  • Penalties: Class B misdemeanor.

This information relating to window tint laws in Arkansas was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Arkansas were enacted in 1993. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Arkansas Info

Arkansas is a state located in the Southern region of the United States. The state's diverse geography ranges from the mountainous regions of the Ozark and the Ouachita Mountains, which make up the U.S. Interior Highlands, to the densely forested land in the south known as the Arkansas Timberlands, to the eastern lowlands along the Mississippi River and the Arkansas Delta. Known as "the Natural State", the diverse regions of Arkansas offer residents and tourists a variety of opportunities for outdoor recreation.


Capital: Little Rock

Population: 2,949,131

Area: 53,179 sq mi (137,733 km2)

Cities  Little Rock, Fayetteville, Hot Springs, Fort Smith, North Little Rock, Bentonville, Jonesboro, Eureka Springs, Conway, Pine Bluff, Springdale, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, El Dorado, Mountain Home, Hope, Lexa, Texarkana, Harrison, West Memphis, Sherwood, Mountain View, Mena, Cabot, Arkadelphia, Benton, Batesville, Bella Vista, Heber Springs, Van Buren, Siloam Springs, Paragould, Jacksonville, Ozark, Blytheville, Stuttgart, Maumelle, Kingsland, Pennys, Magnolia, Delight, Camden, Murfreesboro, Green Forest, De Witt, Calico Rock, Forrest City, Bryant

Counties  Arkansas, Ashley, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonuke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Quachita, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, Yell


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.