Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Kentucky Window Tint Laws (KY)

Car window tinting laws in Kentucky were first put into place in 1994.

Kentucky was the 25th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Kentucky. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Kentucky that we have made available.

Kentucky Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Kentucky

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Kentucky is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Kentucky:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 18% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 18% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Kentucky:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer's AS-1 line.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 8% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 8% tint darkness allowed


Other Kentucky Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Kentucky has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: No restrictions.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in Kentucky
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in the state. Consult with your dealer to make sure they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required on the inside of the driver’s side doorjamb.
  • Medical Exceptions: Kentucky law does NOT allow medical exemptions that would allow you use special tint.
  • Penalties: Class B misdemeanor.

This information relating to window tint laws in Kentucky was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Kentucky were enacted in 1994. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Kentucky Info

Kentucky, officially the Commonwealth of Kentucky, is a state located in the east south-central region of the United States. Kentucky is one of four U.S. states constituted as a commonwealth (the others being Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Massachusetts). Originally a part of Virginia, in 1792 Kentucky became the 15th state to join the Union. Kentucky is the 37th most extensive and the 26th most populous of the 50 United States.


Capital: Frankfort

Population: 4,380,415

Area: 40,409 sq mi (104,659 km2)

Cities  Louisville, Lexington, Bowling Green, Paducah, Frankfort, Owensboro, Elizabethtown, Bardstown, Bearville, Covington, Hopkinsville, Essie, Richmond, Pikeville, Ashland, Florence, Danville, London, Sweeden, Berea, Middlesborough, Somerset, Corbin, Harlan, Erlanger, Murray, Lowes, Maysville, Shelbyville, Glasgow, Nicholasville, Relief, Newport, Georgetown, Fies, Hazard, Madisonville, Shepherdsville, Henderson, Campbellsville, Dingus, Hebron, Benton, Eminence, Winchester, Cave City, Morehead, Versailles, Raceland, Harrodsburg

Counties  Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Bell, boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Eliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Gerrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, LaRue, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, Mason, Meade, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, Wolfe, Woodford


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.