Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

Maine Window Tint Laws (ME)

Car window tinting laws in Maine were first put into place in 1989.

Maine was the 8th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in Maine. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in Maine that we have made available.

Maine Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In Maine

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in Maine is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In Maine:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above AS-1 line or top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In Maine:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above AS-1 line or top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other Maine Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

Maine has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required if back window is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors are allowed in Maine
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film must certify the film they sell in the state. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: No sticker to identify legal tinting is required.
  • Medical Exceptions: Maine law does allow medical exemptions. Chief of the State Police may grant a certificate of exemption in case of certain medical conditions.
  • Penalties: Traffic infraction with minimum $100 fine.

This information relating to window tint laws in Maine was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in Maine were enacted in 1989. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of Maine Info

Maine is a state in the New England region of the northeastern United States, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and south, New Hampshire to the west, the Canadian provinces of Quebec to the northwest and New Brunswick to the northeast. Maine is both the northernmost and easternmost portion of New England. It is known for its scenery—its jagged, mostly rocky coastline, its low, rolling mountains, its heavily forested interior and picturesque waterways—as well as for its seafood cuisine, especially lobsters and clams.


Capital: Augusta

Population: 1,329,192

Area: 35,385 sq mi (91,646 km2)

Cities  Portland, Bangor, Bar Harbor, Augusta, Lewiston, Kennebunkport, Saco, South Portland, Ogunquit, Brunswick, Biddeford, Old Orchard Beach, Kittery, Kennebunk, Waterville, Rockland, Freeport, Camden, Auburn, Cape Elizabeth, York, Presque Isle, Belfast, Orono, Skowhegan, Wells, Falmouth, Caribou, Bath, Sanford, Ellsworth, Westbrook, Gorham, Boothbay Harbor, Scarborough, Sebago, Rockport, Yarmouth, Blue Hill, Corinna, Hodgdon, Houlton, Joyville, Quoddy, Rangeley, Windham, Millinocket, Eastport, Topsham, Monhegan

Counties  Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadohoc, Somerset, Waldo, Washington, York


State Website


Tint law references


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.