Window Tint Laws

Window Tint Laws

West Virginia Window Tint Laws (WV)

Car window tinting laws in West Virginia were first put into place in 1991.

West Virginia was the 15th of the 50 states to enact these laws.

On this page we have done our best to collect all of the legal information necessary about your car’s window tint, including how dark the tint is allowed to be and how reflective the tint is allowed to be in West Virginia. Aside from the basics, like tint percentages, there are also additional car window tinting rules and regulations in West Virginia that we have made available.

West Virginia Tint Laws – Legal Darkness Allowed In West Virginia

The percentage of light that a window tint film allows to pass through your car windows is called the VLT (Visible Light Transmission), and each state has different legal allowable limits. The amount of light allowed to pass through your film and glass in West Virginia is very specific to the state and is different for Passenger Vehicles and Multi-Purpose Vehicles.

I HIGHER VLT means that more light is allowed to pass through the window tint film.

Example: a 75% tint will allow 75% of the light to pass through whereas a 5% tint will only allow 5% of the light to pass through, making the 5% tint a much darker film.

Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Passenger Vehicles In West Virginia:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Rear window: up to 35% tint darkness allowed


Legal Tint Darkness Allowed For Multi-Purpose Vehicles In West Virginia:

  • Front Windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed on the top 5 inches of the windshield.
  • Front seat side windows: up to 35% tint darkness allowed
  • Back seat side windows: Any tint darkness can be used
  • Rear window: Any tint darkness can be used


Other West Virginia Window Tint Rules And Regulations:

West Virginia has a few other important things that you will need to consider regarding window tinting and we recommend that you check them out before deciding whether or not you tint your windows:

  • Side Mirrors: Dual side mirrors are required in this state if any window behind driver is tinted.
  • Window Tint Color Restrictions: All tint colors except Red, Amber and Yellow are allowed in West Virginia
  • Certifications: Manufacturers of film need to certify the film they sell in West Virginia. Ask your dealer if they are using certified film.
  • Stickers: The sticker to identify legal tinting is required between the film & glass on each tinted car window.
  • Medical Exceptions: West Virginia allows medical exemptions for special tint.
  • Penalties: Misdemeanor with maximum $200 fine.

This information relating to window tint laws in West Virginia was last updated on December 13th, 2019. Tinting laws in West Virginia were enacted in 1991. In case any of our info provided is not up to date or correct be sure to contact us so we can fix it. Thanks!

State Of West Virginia Info

West Virginia is a U.S. state located in the Appalachian region of the Southern United States. It is bordered by Virginia to the southeast, Kentucky to the southwest, Ohio to the northwest, Pennsylvania to the north, and Maryland to the northeast. West Virginia is the 41st largest by area and the 38th most populous of the 50 United States. The capital and largest city is Charleston.


Capital: Charleston

Population: 1,855,413

Area: 24,230 sq mi (62,755 km2)

Cities  Charleston, Morgantown, Huntington, Martinsburg, Wheeling, Beckley, Parkersburg, Harpers Ferry, Clarksburg, Snowshoe, Charles Town, Fairmont, Bluefield, Elkins, Lewisburg, Bath, Sunlight, Shepherdstown, Point Pleasant, Weirton, Spice, Buckhannon, Princeton, Bridgeport, Falling Waters, Reader, Moundsville, White Sulphur Springs, Hurricane, Paw Paw, Summersville, Mannington, Barboursville, Poca, Sophia, Coalwood, Fayetteville, Nitro, Woodman, Bomont, West Virginia, Keyser, Welch, Green Bank, Kabletown, Weston, Logan, New Martinsville, Oceana, St. Albans, Williamson

Counties  Barbour, Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Brooke, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Mingo, Monongalia, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Pendleton, Pleasants, Pocahontas, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Randolph, Ritchie, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Wayne, Webster, Wetzel, Wirt, Wood, Wyoming


State Website


Tint law references§ion=36A#15#15


Medical Exemption Info

The information provided on this page is intended to be used for educational purposes only and is not legal advice. Although we are providing this information as a reference based on the research we have done, we cannot be held liable for any outdated information as these laws have the potential to change frequently.